Freelance marketplace affiliate programs compared: Fiverr, Upwork and more
Short answer
Freelance marketplace affiliate programs pay publishers for referring new clients to hiring platforms. Fiverr pays 25% or 70% of a first order, capped at $500, plus 10% for 12 months. Upwork pays 70% of first contract spend up to $150. 99designs pays $40 per new customer. Freelancer.com pays referred users' project fees for 100 days. Toptal does not publish its referral terms publicly.
Key takeaways
- Fiverr pays 25% of a first Marketplace order or 70% of a first Fiverr Pro order (each capped at $500), plus 10% of later orders for 12 months.
- Upwork pays 70% of a new client's first contract spend, up to $150 per new client, through Impact.
- 99designs pays $40 per new customer and $20 per returning customer, with a 60-day cookie, through Impact.
- Freelancer.com pays the net project fees of projects posted by referred users for their first 100 days, credited to your Freelancer account.
- Toptal's referral terms sit inside its talent portal and are not published on a public page we could open.
If you publish content for business owners, marketers or agencies, freelance marketplaces are a natural fit: your readers hire freelancers, and the platforms pay for introductions. The programs differ more than the headline percentages suggest, in what they pay on, for how long, how they track and how they pay out.
This page compares the affiliate and referral programs of Fiverr, Upwork, Freelancer.com, 99designs and Toptal. Every term was checked on the program’s own pages on September 29, 2026 and is linked under Sources. Where a program does not publish a term publicly, we say so. We make no income claims; results depend on your audience.
How do the main freelance marketplace affiliate programs compare?
Here is the side-by-side view of what each program publishes.
| Program | What you earn | Cap | Recurring | Cookie or window | Network and payout |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fiverr | 25% of first Marketplace order, 70% of first Fiverr Pro order, $30 for Logo Maker | $500 on the first-order commission | 10% of later orders for 12 months | 30-day cookie; user must register within 30 days | Fiverr’s own partner platform; bank wire, $100 minimum, net 30 |
| Upwork | 70% of a new client’s first contract spend | $150 per new client | Not described on the affiliate page | Not stated on the affiliate page | Impact; direct transfer, BACS or PayPal |
| 99designs | $40 per new customer, $20 per returning customer | Fixed amounts | No | 60-day cookie | Impact |
| Freelancer.com | Net project fees of projects posted by referred users | Not stated | For the referred user’s first 100 days | User must sign up within 30 days | Paid into your Freelancer account 30 days after fees are collected |
| Toptal | Referral terms inside the Toptal talent portal | Not public | Not public | Not public | Not public |
How does the Fiverr affiliate program work?
Fiverr pays a commission on a referred buyer’s first order and 10% of their later orders for 12 months. The first-order commission is 25% for the Marketplace and 70% for Fiverr Pro, each capped at $500 according to Fiverr Affiliates’ commission update post. Logo Maker pays a fixed $30.
Tracking uses a 30-day cookie: users who click and register within 30 days are attributed to you, and only purchases pay. You can request payment once your balance reaches $100, on net-30 terms, and Fiverr currently pays by bank wire only.
Fiverr’s strength for publishers is the range of buyer intent it can match: any service category, the vetted Fiverr Pro tier for business buyers and Logo Maker for low-budget logo searches. The full terms and rules are on our Fiverr affiliate program page, and the math is on the commission examples page.
How does the Upwork affiliate program work?
Upwork pays 70% of a new client’s first contract spend, up to $150 per new client. Its affiliate page says the program runs through Impact, where you track commissions and manage payouts, and lists direct transfer, BACS or PayPal as payout methods.
The model is simple and client-focused: the commission is tied to new clients on Upwork’s Talent Marketplace and Project Catalog, not to referred freelancers. The affiliate page does not describe a recurring commission after the first contract. The $150 cap means the commission tops out once a referred client’s first contract spend passes about $214.
Upwork fits content aimed at buyers with ongoing, hourly or hard-to-package work. Our Fiverr alternatives page explains when Upwork is the better hiring choice for a reader, which is the honest basis for recommending it.
How does the 99designs affiliate program work?
99designs pays $40 for every new customer and $20 for every returning customer, with a 60-day cookie. Its affiliates page says the program runs on Impact.
The audience match is narrow and strong: readers looking for logos, packaging, web design and other creative work. 99designs’ own logo contest packages start at $249 (Bronze), so buyers who come through are already committed to a meaningful spend. The fixed payout means you earn the same on a Bronze contest as on a Platinum one.
How does the Freelancer.com affiliate program work?
Freelancer.com pays affiliates the net project fees from projects posted by users they refer, for the first 100 days of the referred user’s account. Its affiliate terms define the bonus as total project fees less chargebacks, refunds and reversals, excluding special program fees.
Referred users must sign up through your link within 30 days. The bonus is paid into your Freelancer account 30 calendar days after Freelancer collects the fees, and unused bonus expires 3 months after it is earned. The terms also prohibit spam, self-referrals and referrals from bulk mailing lists.
For context on what those fees are, Freelancer.com’s fees page lists an employer project fee of 3% or $3, whichever is greater, on fixed-price projects and 3% on hourly payments.
Does Toptal have an affiliate program?
Toptal runs a referral program, but its terms sit inside the Toptal talent portal, which we could not open, and we found no public page stating current referral payouts. If you want to promote Toptal, ask Toptal directly for written terms before building content around it.
Toptal’s public pages do describe its client offer: it accepts fewer than 3% of more than 200,000 applicants a year, typically introduces candidates within 24 hours and offers a trial period of up to two weeks.
Which freelance marketplace affiliate program should you choose?
Choose by audience first, terms second. The best-paying program on paper earns nothing if your readers do not match its buyers.
- Broad small-business and marketing audience: Fiverr, because it covers nearly every service category, and its Pro plan matches business buyers.
- Readers hiring for ongoing or hourly work: Upwork, with a clear first-contract commission capped at $150.
- Design-focused readers: 99designs for contests and Fiverr for designers and Logo Maker.
- Readers comparing platforms: promote more than one, and tell readers honestly which platform fits which job.
Whichever you choose, keep the disclosure near the link. Fiverr’s Affiliate Marketing Policy asks for wording like “Fiverr Promoter” or “Sponsored” close to each affiliate link, and it requires endorsements to reflect your honest opinion.
Apply to Fiverr Affiliates Paid linkSources
- Fiverr Affiliates - Marketplace and Logo Maker commissions, $100 minimum, net 30. Checked September 29, 2026.
- Fiverr Affiliates: Fiverr Pro product - 70% of first order plus 10% for 12 months.
- Fiverr Affiliates blog: new commission structure - $500 CPA cap.
- Fiverr Partnerships Help: How affiliate links work - 30-day tracking cookie.
- Fiverr Partnerships Help: Setting up payment details - bank wire only.
- Fiverr Affiliate Marketing Policy - disclosure and honesty rules.
- Upwork affiliate program - 70% of first contract spend up to $150, Impact, payout methods.
- 99designs affiliates - $40 new, $20 returning, 60-day cookie, Impact.
- 99designs logo design pricing - contest packages from $249.
- Freelancer.com Affiliate Program Terms and Conditions - net project fees, 30-day sign-up, 100 days, payment timing, expiry, prohibited methods.
- Freelancer.com fees and charges - 3% or $3 employer project fee.
- Toptal FAQ - under 3% acceptance, 24-hour introductions, trial period.